parrotpatriot is back!!

Malthusian Theory and my feeble mind

Posted by parrotpatriot on July 31, 2009

I’m sort of stuck on the population control/eugenics theme. It’s just fascinating to me on so many levels. Plus I think I most certainly would qualify as feeble minded. And I think maybe my face is poorly formed.

But I’m not too worried about it.  They can take my body, but they’ll never have my soul.    

The following came from a book called Population Control by Steven Mosher and I got the exerpt here.

Never before in human history had our numbers increased so far, so fast: from 3 billion in 1960 to 6 billion in 2000. But Ehrlich and Company, I came to see, glossed over the underlying reason: Our numbers didn’t double because we suddenly started breeding like rabbits. They doubled because we stopped dying like flies.

So what is Malthusian Theory?? Malthusian Theory is named for a fellow named Malthus who wrote this book and said the world would be completely filled up with people by 1890:

Malthus, An Essay on the Principle of Population, 6th edition, Book IV, Chapter VI | Library of Economics and Liberty.

Here is an interesting website that claims were are not overpopulated at all. Gosh, I remember when they used to teach that!! Overpopulation: The Making of a Myth.

Leave a Reply

 
